The Wednesday Spotlight: 04/07/10

3 04 2010

So, welcome to a new series of posts spotlighting the newest and most notable weekly releases this Wednesday. In here, I’ll be covering everything from the action figures to the trade paper backs that will be heading to your local comic book store this Wednesday. I’ll also be talking about the various releases that I’ll be picking up and what I think of them. So let’s get started, shall we? Click on the comic’s name to go to the site with it’s solicitation and cover art.

AVENGERS ORIGIN #1 |
written by JOE CASEY, art by PHIL NOTO| $3.99

It’s time for a new origin story already? This looks a little early for a movie tie-in but with Joe Casey on writing duties and Phil Noto on art who’s complaining? While it certainly does look promising, I don’t find a compelling reason to read it right away and the price tag is pretty steep for a story I‘ve seen quite a few times already, so I might wait for the trade on this one.

BATMAN AND ROBIN #11| written by GRANT MORRISON, art by ANDY CLARKE AND SCOTT HANNA |$2.99

Need I say more? Oh, and if you haven’t checked out the first six issues of this series, the deluxe hardcover edition of Batman Reborn is out this week as well.

BATMAN CONFIDENTIAL #43|written by SAM KIETH, art by SAM KIETH |$2.99

To be honest, I haven’t really enjoyed Kieth’s take on the Dark Knight. The artwork feels muddled at times and the story is rather on the weird side. That’s saying a lot since I enjoy Morrison’s work! I’m sure he has his fans and they’ll certainly want to pick this issue up.

DEMO VOL 2 #3| written by BRIAN WOOD, art by BECKY CLOONAN |$2.99

I’ll be honest with you, I never read the first volume of Demo. But I picked the last issue, ‘Pangs’ on a whim and I was blown away. The preview for this issue definitely looked interesting so I think I’m going to give this issue a try.

INVINCIBLE RETURNS #1| written by ROBERT KIRKMAN, art by RYAN OTTLEY, CORY WALKER and FCO PLASCENCIA |$3.99

Another thing I’ll be honest with you about, I’ve never read Invincible. But after all the buzz it gets on the Internet, I’ve decided to give it a shot with this ‘jumping on point’ that will lead into their big event, The Viltrumite War. If you’ve never read the title before but were always interested in giving a shot, pick this up.

S.H.I.E.L.D. #1| written by JONATHAN HICKMAN, art by DUSTIN WEAVER |$3.99

In my opinion, this is the biggest release of the week. I’m not sure how to feel about this, I love the concept but I’m not sure how much I’ll enjoy this based on my unfamiliarity with the Marvel Universe. I will admit though, it’s hard to say no to Jonathan Hickman and Dustin Weaver, so I guess I’ll have to make the decision when I’m at the store.

ULTIMATE COMICS X #2| written by JEPH LOEB, art by ARTHUR ADAMS |$3.99

Jeph Loeb’s first issue on Ultimate Comics X was a pleasant surprise, real good art with a story that was pretty good considering this was the guy responsible for Ultimatum. For people not interested in the Ultimate take on the X-Universe, I’d suggest checking out Uncanny X-Men #523 for the second chapter of Second Coming instead.

Other notable releases this week include:

FLASH SECRET FILES AND ORIGINS 2010 #1
PHILLIP K DICK’S ELECTRIC ANT #1
SECRET SIX:  DEPTHS TPB
SPIDER-MAN FEVER #1
SUPERMAN SECRET ORIGIN #5

WEIRD WORLD OF JACK STAFF #2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

