The Brightest Day – What’s worth a look?

6 04 2010

Welcome to the second part of my two-part look on DC and Marvel’s newest publishing initiatives, The Brightest Day and the Heroic Age.  This half of the post covers DC’s side of the equation, The Brightest Day. Check out what I had to say about the Heroic Age by clicking over here.

Just like in The Wednesday Spotlight, click on the comic’s name to be brought to a page with it’s cover art and solicitation text. Also, the solicits in the links might contain spoilers for future DC events and for the Blackest Night as well, so caution please.

THE BRIGHTEST DAY

The Brightest Day
is DC’s follow up to their last big event, The Blackest Night. It’s a 26-issue, biweekly maxiseries written by Geoff Johns and Pete Tomasi – the writers responsible for the Blackest Night. The art team, as far I know, will be a rotating cast of artists much like 52 and Countdown. However, unlike 52 and Countdown, DC seems to be pulling out all the stops and giving us some of the best artists in their roster of talent for the series.

They’re not picking people who are just fast, they’re picking people who are good as well. As of the first two months, the solicited art team is ‘Ivan Reis, Pat Gleason, Adrian Syaf and Scott Clark & Joe Prado.’ Two of those names you’d be familiar with if you’ve been picking up the Green Lantern family of titles, while the other two seem to be DC’s rising talents much like Marvel’s ‘Young Guns.’

The Brightest Day will be following the story of the twelve newly resurrected heroes and villains from the aftermath of the Blackest Night. It’s most likely going to be the ‘spine’ of the Brightest Day event with most of the important events happening in it’s pages. So it’ll definitely be a must read for people who want to get into the thick of the DC Universe.

As for me, I’m neither excited nor wary of the series. The Blackest Night’s ending didn’t really do much for me but the concept and the talent involved, plus the 2.99 price tag are definitely inviting. I’ll have to wait and see on this one.

GREEN LANTERN

Despite having it’s roots in the Green Lantern mythos, the Brightest Day is more of a DCU story than it is just a Green Lantern story. That doesn’t mean we won’t be seeing the Green Lantern titles get involved with the Brightest Day.
Geoff Johns and Doug Manhke continue their run on Green Lantern and will hopefully be able to make use of the momentum they’ve built up after the stellar issues they’ve put out over the past few months. Their work on the title was much better than the Blackest Night itself, and I’m definitely going to be looking forward to more. Their side of the Brightest Day will be about the mysterious White Lantern that was found in the aftermath of Blackest Night and who will get to wield it. Any guesses to who it might be? I’m calling Deadman.

Green Lantern Corps
will be getting a new writer, Tony Bedard of REBELS with art by Adrian Syaf for the very first arc. Tony Bedard’s a solid writer. I enjoyed his work on Batman Confidential and I really liked what he did with Starro the Conqueror in REBELS. Commenting on his collaborator, I’d say that Syaf’s alright in my book. He has this faux Lee thing going on and I think it’s pretty impressive that he’s contributing to Green Lantern Corps and Brightest Day at the same time. However, I’m not that interested in the Corps anymore, so I’ll probably pass on this, but don’t let that put you off on this book, it looks very promising.

Pete Tomasi, Green Lantern Corps former writer, will be getting a new assignment: ‘ Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors’ starring Guy Gardner, one of my favorite Green Lanterns. Nothing has been solicited so far, perhaps we’ll get some information on this title when the July Solicits come out in two week’s time.

NEW TITLES

Several new titles will be making their debut with the Brightest Day and one of the most anticipated titles coming out is The Flash with Geoff Johns and Francis Manupal on art. I’m not too hot on the current incarnation of The Flash and his reintroduction in Rebirth wasn’t very good either. I liked how he was used in The Blackest Night, but that’s it really. The main draw for me are The Rouges, The Flash’s villains. They’re definitely more compelling than Flash himself and I’m definitely more excited to see how they factor in the first arc: ‘The Dastardly Death of the Rogues.’ On a plus note, Manupal’s art is really pretty so at least I know it’ll look good.

Another title debuting is the second volume of Birds of Prey by Gail Simone and  Ed Benes who had both previously worked together on the title before it‘s cancellation. I’m not that interested in this title, Simone’s work on Wonder Woman hasn’t really wowed me and her recent work on Secret Six wasn’t as compelling as her older stuff. Ed Benes, on the other hand, isn’t that good of an artist to draw me into picking up a title. It’ll be solid, sure, but I don’t think I’ll be grabbing it when it comes out.

Green Arrow
is getting a reboot with a shiny new #1 issue this July. People haven’t really been enjoying the direction of the character with Rise and Fall and I can’t really blame them. However, Geoff Johns has been rather vocal about the script for the first issue by JT Krul, calling it one of the best comic scripts he’s read, that plus really good looking art by Diogenes Neves is more than enough to get interested.

Another bi-weekly miniseries will be making it’s way to shelves on May, Justice League: Generation Lost. It features the return of Keith Giffen on the Justice League International however instead of longtime collaborator, J.M. DeMatteis, he’s being joined by Judd Winnick. I love the JLI, but I’m kind of iffy on Winnick’s involvement so this might be a pass.

To people who miss the classic team of Giffen and DeMatteis, fret not for they will taking over Booster Gold with art by Chris Batista. This title is something I’m really excited for. Other than Green Lantern which was already on my pull list, this is the only title that I’m one-hundred percent sure to be picking up when the Brightest Day rolls in. Pick it up, you won’t regret it.

So, that’s it. These are the titles that I think will be worth a look come the Brightest Day which officially begins in two weeks’ time. Did I miss something? Why don’t you guys tell me on the comments section below, I’d love to hear what you think. As usual, stay tuned for more.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

