What I ended up picking up this week: 4-07-10

11 04 2010

This was a pretty good week for comics, I was able to pick up SHIELD #1, Ultimate Comics X #2, Batman and Robin #11 and Spider-Man: Fever as a replacement for Invincible Returns #1 which I couldn’t find in my LCS. I was also able to pick up several comics that I neglected to pickup, Green Lantern #52 and Amazing Spider-Man #626.

So – what did I think of all of them? Hit the jump button to find out.

Amazing Spider-Man #626, written by Fred Van Lente, art by Michael Gaydos

Taking place right after Joe Kelly’s spectacular issue with the Rhino, this issue, an interlude from the Gauntlet, has a lot to live up to. The story stars the new Scorpion, Carmilla Black former SHIELD agent. This issue was alright, if not unspectacular. I think this is my least favorite of Van Lente’s Spider-Man work especially considering the fact that he penned that fantastic Sandman arc a month or so ago. The art by Gaydos wasn’t my cup of tea, but it’s serviceable. Overall, I’d say that this issue is decent but ultimately skippable as it’s ties to the overall Gauntlet saga are minimal at best.

Batman and Robin #11, written by Grant Morrison, art by Andy Clarke and Scott Hana

Let me be blunt about this, I love Batman and Robin. It’s one of the very few comics that make me curse the very fact that I’m at the last page and have to wait another month to see what happens next. From the beginning of this issue with Dr. Hurt to the cliffhanger ending with a special guest star this issue had it all. One of the, if not, the best release this week. Pick it up.

Green Lantern #52, written by Geoff Johns, art by Doug Mahnke

Yeah, yeah I know. I’ve read and finished up with the Blackest Night already, but I somehow let this one slip through the cracks. This continues Sinestro’s [short] tenure as the bearer of the White Light and it also finishes John Stewart’s zombie Xanshi plotline. It’s not as good as the last issue, but it’s definitely better than most of the other titles from the Blackest Night. It’s a shame that this couldn’t be the main book of the crossover.

S.H.I.E.L.D. #1, written by Jonathan Hickman, art by Dustin Weaver

I was surprised with how much I enjoyed this issue. I mean, yeah, the creative team is fantastic and the premise is intriguing but I was initially put off by the fact that this series might be grounded in Marvel’s rich history which I’m not very familiar with. Surprisingly, it wasn’t history-intensive and it was very enjoyable. I found that this was up there with Batman and Robin as one of the best releases this week, it’d be a disservice not to pick this great series up.

Spider-Man: Fever #1, written by Brendan McCarthy, art by Brendan McCarthy


‘A human soul? Prepare it immediately. I will have it with custard.’

If that snippet of dialogue appealed to you in anyway, pick this up. This is crazytrippyfunawesome at it’s finest. It’s not for everybody, though.

Ultimate Comics X #2, written by Jeph Loeb, art by Arthur Adams

Another pleasant surprise from Jeph Loeb, nothing really special over here. If you read the preview, you can probably guess what happens next in this issue. On the art side of the equation, Adams provides some pretty nice looking art, but I don’t think it’s good enough to be worth the admission fee.

Actions

Information

One response

13 04 2010
paulvex

yeah how good was shield? it was an odd choice with da vinci, but in the end it seemed to work! this week, not much out eh? i guess i’ll have to take a week off and save for next week!

Leave a Reply

