The Wednesday Spotlight: 04-14-10

12 04 2010

I’m changing the way I write the Wednesday Spotlight. Instead of yammering about the titles I’m probably not going to pick up, I’ve decided to spotlight what I’m most likely going get this week and what else I’m likely to get if I had the extra money. So, hit the jump button and let’s get this thing started, shall we?

Titles I’m most likely to pick up this Wednesday:

BATGIRL #9
I might be alone in this, but I really enjoy Batgirl. I’ve never heard of Bryan Miller before, but he’s really been impressing as of late, delivering simple and fun stories that read like the comics I used to read when I was a kid. The art isn’t too shabby either, Lee Garbett has been getting better since I first saw his work in Batman #682 and 683 and I’m looking forward to his contribution to Return of Bruce Wayne.

BATMAN #698

It seems that there’s no shortage of Bat-titles this week with Tony Daniels kicking off a new, two-part arc in his Batman run with special guest artist Guillem March. I’d have to give it to Daniels, his Battle for the Cowl was one of the worst comics I read last year but he’s really turned it around with his ‘Life After Death’ arc. Sure, it’s not perfect, but it’s a perfectly serviceable Bruce Wayne story which is where most of my problems with this issue lie considering it‘s Dick Grayson under the cowl. Hopefully, we’ll be able to see an improvement in this arc.

BRIGHTEST DAY #0

The Brightest Day finally rolls out with it’s zero issue with Geoff Johns and Peter Tomasi writing and Fernando Pasarin drawing. This looks like it’s going to be DC’s biggest release this week, so you’ll definitely be seeing a lot of hype on their blog, The Source. I’m not too sure if I can commit to a bi-weekly series, but I’d definitely recommend it to everyone interested in getting into the DC Universe.

FLASH #1

Arguably, DC’s second biggest release this week following the Brightest Day is Geoff Johns’ second offering this week The Flash. I’m not really feeling Barry Allen right now, Rebirth failed to catch my attention but I generally liked his usage in Blackest Night. I’m still picking it up though but I’m only giving it one shot to grab my attention, so I’m hoping that this will be good. Oh, and don’t forget to ask about the Flash promotional rings from your LCS.

THE UNWRITTEN #12

My favorite ongoing from Vertigo and easily my top pick for best book of the week right now. I picked this up when the first issue came out for a dollar and I’ve been picking it  up ever since because of it’s really intriguing concept. It felt like the perfect companion piece to read after Final Crisis’ central theme about the power of stories and how they affect humanity. I honestly can’t wait.

What I’d pick up if I had more money:

DOC SAVAGE #1

PUNISHERMAX #6

MARVEL SELECT IRON MAN 2 ACTION FIGURE

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

